Blues Latest Content Latest Blues Content http://teamrock.com/blues Tue, 21 Nov 2017 16:55:11 +0000 <![CDATA[Stevie Ray Vaughan: The Making Of Texas Flood]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-08-27/stevie-ray-vaughan-the-making-of-texas-flood Sat, 27 Aug 2016 17:55:00 +0000 Stevie Ray Vaughan: The Making Of Texas Flood Stevie Ray Vaughan's bandmates and other insiders tell the story behind the making of modern blues classic Texas Flood. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/2ab03e45-40d0-4f5a-8947-5c70915b8148 <![CDATA[Etta James: Buyer's Guide]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-08-26/etta-james-buyer-s-guide Fri, 26 Aug 2016 16:55:00 +0000 Etta James: Buyer's Guide http://assets.teamrock.com/image/1732e579-7aaf-4f3b-aeee-ef127ae9981f <![CDATA[Jethro Tull's Ian Anderson: The Blues Roots Of A Prog Hero]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-08-25/jethro-tull-s-ian-anderson-the-blues-roots-of-a-prog-hero Thu, 25 Aug 2016 14:55:00 +0000 Jethro Tull's Ian Anderson: The Blues Roots Of A Prog Hero He’s known as the wild-eyed, flute-playing leader of progressive luminaries Jethro Tull. But Ian Anderson started out with rock’n’roll, the blues and the John Evan Band. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/bc769b41-2edf-4ee5-ad8c-0bbb60efac54 <![CDATA[Son House Vs The White Stripes: Death Letter]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-08-24/son-house-vs-the-white-stripes-death-letter Wed, 24 Aug 2016 12:55:00 +0000 Son House Vs The White Stripes: Death Letter A heartbreaking story of love and loss written in 1930 by ex-convict Son House, Death Letter was covered by alternative scenesters The White Stripes. But who did it best? http://assets.teamrock.com/image/fa361f91-cd1a-4c08-a430-99da29641c50 <![CDATA[Leslie West: First Time I Met The Blues]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-08-23/leslie-west-first-time-i-met-the-blues Tue, 23 Aug 2016 17:55:00 +0000 Leslie West: First Time I Met The Blues Mountain man Leslie West recalls inspiration, amputation and the revelation of watching Cream on LSD. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/59c092da-aa3a-41fe-bb9b-2093e866cc8f <![CDATA[Dr John Buyer's Guide]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-08-22/dr-john-buyer-s-guide Mon, 22 Aug 2016 19:55:00 +0000 Dr John Buyer's Guide http://assets.teamrock.com/image/c9a7b7f0-0564-48f2-a8f0-b08005a1e720 <![CDATA[Blues Pills: from cigars and ski-hire to heavy soul and international success]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-08-21/blues-pills-from-cigars-and-ski-hire-to-heavy-soul-and-international-success Sun, 21 Aug 2016 15:00:00 +0000 Blues Pills: from cigars and ski-hire to heavy soul and international success Interview: As Blues Pills' "difficult" second album tops the charts (number 1 in Germany), the band tell the story of how they got this far... http://assets.teamrock.com/image/af27486e-cbb6-4b85-b55a-5bbc4e849b6b <![CDATA[John Lee Hooker Buyer's Guide]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-08-20/john-lee-hooker-buyer-s-guide Sat, 20 Aug 2016 18:55:00 +0000 John Lee Hooker Buyer's Guide The Boogie Man, The Healer, the blues shaman who sounded like nobody else and influenced almost everybody else. These are the John Lee Hooker albums you need… http://assets.teamrock.com/image/bed6036f-b6ad-48b6-bd59-a6f55b6f7a80 <![CDATA[Sammy Hagar Has The Blues]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-08-19/sammy-hagar-has-the-blues Fri, 19 Aug 2016 10:55:00 +0000 Sammy Hagar Has The Blues In 2013, Sammy Hagar released a blues album. “If I’d turned in this record back in the Van Halen days,” he says, “the record company would have told me to shove it up my ass…" http://assets.teamrock.com/image/b99ad7b0-e6ad-4c28-9a20-808e5a54007e <![CDATA[The Alligator Records Story]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-08-18/the-alligator-records-story Thu, 18 Aug 2016 09:55:00 +0000 The Alligator Records Story After being blown away by a Hound Dog Taylor gig, Bruce Iglauer set up Alligator Records to capture his raucous sounds. Today, Alligator is home to the blues’ brightest stars… http://assets.teamrock.com/image/1a13e19b-200d-4432-94d6-8fbaf2c710d4 <![CDATA[Joe Bonamassa: The Real Me]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-08-17/joe-bonamassa-the-real-me Wed, 17 Aug 2016 17:55:00 +0000 Joe Bonamassa: The Real Me Keeper of the blues Joe Bonamassa talks about forum trolls, obsessed fans and delusions of grandeur… http://assets.teamrock.com/image/8e17a804-d27a-4343-8cdf-c20206bea6ca <![CDATA[Muddy Waters: Life After Chess]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-08-16/muddy-waters-life-after-chess Tue, 16 Aug 2016 16:55:00 +0000 Muddy Waters: Life After Chess Cut loose from Chess Records, Muddy Waters teamed up with Johnny Winter for Hard Again, the first in a trio of albums that served as the Hoochie Coochie Man’s brilliant final flourish. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/15cb5786-4511-47a4-91ea-e708389f0838 <![CDATA[Mavis Staples: The Life And Soul Of A Legend]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-08-15/mavis-staples-the-life-and-soul-of-a-legend Mon, 15 Aug 2016 17:55:00 +0000 Mavis Staples: The Life And Soul Of A Legend The Chicago soul and gospel icon explains how Martin Luther King led her to make some of the defining songs of the civil rights era http://assets.teamrock.com/image/7d177cc1-576e-4052-9e33-f25cdbd5f7b4 <![CDATA[Can there be such a thing as ‘real blues’ in the 21st century?]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-08-14/can-there-be-such-a-thing-as-real-blues-in-the-21st-century Sun, 14 Aug 2016 10:55:00 +0000 Can there be such a thing as ‘real blues’ in the 21st century? Half a century on from the British blues boom, can authenticity still exist on the scene? http://assets.teamrock.com/image/5b03b34b-76ca-4669-8fea-a3b59a468a31 <![CDATA[The Story Of The Blues Brothers]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-08-13/the-story-of-the-blues-brothers Sat, 13 Aug 2016 12:55:00 +0000 The Story Of The Blues Brothers Cult movie The Blues Brothers exposed a generation to the brilliance of blues and soul legends like John Lee Hooker and Aretha Franklin. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/03321198-dff1-4ef7-b0c9-f229d96a8733 <![CDATA[Gary Moore: the story of Still Got The Blues]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-08-12/gary-moore-the-story-of-still-got-the-blues Fri, 12 Aug 2016 13:55:00 +0000 Gary Moore: the story of Still Got The Blues 1990's Still Got The Blues album was an abrupt and risky game-changer that reignited the tradition of blistering British blues guitar http://assets.teamrock.com/image/83e7b7a8-1f43-4954-b510-2f867c58abd9 <![CDATA[Albert Collins Buyer's Guide]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-08-11/albert-collins-buyer-s-guide Thu, 11 Aug 2016 11:55:00 +0000 Albert Collins Buyer's Guide Master of the Telecaster, The Iceman: Albert Collins was the blues bruiser with the huge frosty tone and a big warm heart to match. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/446c850b-a408-4d4c-ad47-aff029a2c265 <![CDATA[Led Zeppelin Vs Memphis Minnie: When The Levee Breaks]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-08-09/led-zeppelin-vs-memphis-minnie-when-the-levee-breaks Tue, 09 Aug 2016 12:55:00 +0000 Led Zeppelin Vs Memphis Minnie: When The Levee Breaks Led Zeppelin turned an obscure 1929 recording from Memphis Minnie into an epic rock monolith. But which version’s better? http://assets.teamrock.com/image/d8f6c0b3-2fa5-4288-9123-985cf370db78 <![CDATA[How Rory Gallagher Inspired Author Ian Rankin]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-08-06/how-rory-gallagher-inspired-author-ian-rankin Sat, 06 Aug 2016 08:55:00 +0000 How Rory Gallagher Inspired Author Ian Rankin Fusing a whodunnit novella with Rory Gallagher’s darkest songs, Ian Rankin's Kickback City is much more than a bog-standard box-set. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/91eceaca-de90-4bf0-a8d9-c844f1736452 <![CDATA[Warren Haynes: First Time I Met The Blues]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-08-03/warren-haynes-first-time-i-met-the-blues Wed, 03 Aug 2016 09:55:00 +0000 Warren Haynes: First Time I Met The Blues Allman Brothers/Gov’t Mule’s Warren Haynes on his love for British blues, and the legends who make up his ‘Mount Rushmore’ of influences… http://assets.teamrock.com/image/9d09ef50-3c64-440d-a1e9-9435d0bf15eb <![CDATA[Stevie Ray Vaughan: Buyer's Guide]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-08-02/stevie-ray-vaughan-buyer-s-guide Tue, 02 Aug 2016 11:55:00 +0000 Stevie Ray Vaughan: Buyer's Guide The Texas cat with the hat and the Strat who hot-wired the 80s blues revival and launched the post-Vaughanist generation. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/f7a860c1-f828-4da9-b75d-2c95123a8049 <![CDATA[Robert Cray: President Obama's Favourite Bluesman]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-08-01/robert-cray-president-obama-s-favourite-bluesman Mon, 01 Aug 2016 12:55:00 +0000 Robert Cray: President Obama's Favourite Bluesman Robert Cray brought the blues to the MTV generation – including Barack Obama – and redefined the notion of stardom. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/7bc204bc-16c1-454e-b851-2e4ccb081835 <![CDATA[Rory Gallagher: The Making Of Irish Tour '74]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-07-31/rory-gallagher-the-making-of-irish-tour-74 Sun, 31 Jul 2016 17:55:00 +0000 Rory Gallagher: The Making Of Irish Tour '74 Rory Gallagher brought inspiration to war-torn Belfast. The Blues goes behind the barricades to bring you the story of the album and film, Irish Tour ’74. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/62383b70-cc08-43b1-a6af-af20c21f1b74 <![CDATA[The Blue Horizon Story]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-07-30/the-blue-horizon-story Sat, 30 Jul 2016 11:55:00 +0000 The Blue Horizon Story How pioneering label Blue Horizon turned a corner of British suburbia into the blues capitals of the world, with a little help from Eric Clapton and Fleetwood Mac. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/0e63aefc-81f1-49d1-85d2-f1effefe1223 <![CDATA[Albert King Buyer's Guide]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-07-29/albert-king-buyer-s-guide Fri, 29 Jul 2016 08:55:00 +0000 Albert King Buyer's Guide Needlepoint clarity meets bulldozer power: acquaint yourself with the songs of the meanest, nastiest and funkiest of the Three Kings. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/9408472d-d536-488e-b966-242511753297 <![CDATA[ZZ Top: The First Time I Met The Blues]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-07-28/zz-top-the-first-time-i-met-the-blues Thu, 28 Jul 2016 10:55:00 +0000 ZZ Top: The First Time I Met The Blues Sneaking out to Texan blues joints, playing bum notes with Chuck Berry and carrying Jimmy Reed’s bottle – all part of ZZ Top’s musical schooling. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/8051936e-44d3-4b14-a339-1ca02424aa14 <![CDATA[The 20 Greatest Chicago Blues Records]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-07-27/the-20-greatest-chicago-blues-records Wed, 27 Jul 2016 09:55:00 +0000 The 20 Greatest Chicago Blues Records From Big Boss Man to Smokestack Lightnin’, these are the stories of the landmark records that electrified the blues and put Chicago on the map. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/9e420eb6-6cbf-404c-9e86-a463c94ca6fc <![CDATA[The Rolling Stones – 50 Years Of Rock'n'roll]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-07-26/the-rolling-stones-50-years-of-rock-n-roll Tue, 26 Jul 2016 12:00:00 +0000 The Rolling Stones – 50 Years Of Rock'n'roll An audience with The Rolling Stones, as their satanic majesties celebrate their golden jubilee. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/73335659-abd6-467e-a730-ae4c235ddd97 <![CDATA[The British Blues Explosion – The Start Of The '60s Mod Scene]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-07-24/the-british-blues-explosion-the-start-of-the-60s-mod-scene Sun, 24 Jul 2016 10:55:00 +0000 The British Blues Explosion – The Start Of The '60s Mod Scene http://assets.teamrock.com/image/770acf85-1f1c-41ac-a0f3-09e916343c5c <![CDATA[Rival Sons' Jay Buchanan: First Time I Met The Blues]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-07-23/rival-sons-jay-buchanan-first-time-i-met-the-blues Sat, 23 Jul 2016 17:00:00 +0000 Rival Sons' Jay Buchanan: First Time I Met The Blues Jay Buchanan, singer with Californian retro-rockers Rival Sons, on discovering good things in the gospel of the blues from the Animals to Zeppelin. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/315bbad3-c9a7-4c69-bc9c-5c0d9e571cf3 <![CDATA[Howlin' Wolf Vs The Doors - who sang Back Door Man best?]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-07-20/howlin-wolf-vs-the-doors-who-sang-back-door-man-best Wed, 20 Jul 2016 09:00:00 +0000 Howlin' Wolf Vs The Doors - who sang Back Door Man best? A ribald number that Willie Dixon wrote for Howlin’ Wolf, covered by The Doors at their most seamy and sinful. But which version’s better? http://assets.teamrock.com/image/bf33bf31-0c8f-486d-8929-66be69a33570 <![CDATA[A Tribute To Bobby 'Blue' Bland]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-07-19/a-tribute-to-bobby-blue-bland Tue, 19 Jul 2016 11:16:00 +0000 A Tribute To Bobby 'Blue' Bland The last interview with a UK writer from one of the greatest voices in blues. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/c4739d88-b2e1-4e70-b9d8-ca5cc2bb0d70 <![CDATA[The 20 Greatest British Blues Albums: 1967 – 1970]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-07-18/the-20-greatest-british-blues-albums-1967-1970 Mon, 18 Jul 2016 17:05:00 +0000 The 20 Greatest British Blues Albums: 1967 – 1970 Part two of our history of British blues finds the scene getting louder, hairier and taking a more experimental turn. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/71041e31-b66b-4db6-937d-6af13792d1c6 <![CDATA[Hubert Sumlin: Howlin' Wolf's Right Hand Man]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-07-18/hubert-sumlin-howlin-wolf-s-right-hand-man Mon, 18 Jul 2016 12:26:00 +0000 Hubert Sumlin: Howlin' Wolf's Right Hand Man An audience with the Chicago guitar hero who made Smokestack Lightning crackle. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/48ff2e11-a041-484b-9722-344a3de4ef80 <![CDATA[Johnny Winter Buyer's Guide]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-07-15/johnny-winter-buyer-s-guide Fri, 15 Jul 2016 17:13:00 +0000 Johnny Winter Buyer's Guide The albums by Texan legend Johnny Winter you need in your life http://assets.teamrock.com/image/d4966cf3-f16a-4caa-a7f7-e8c35d3a5be2 <![CDATA[BB King: The King Of The Blues]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-07-14/bb-king-the-king-of-the-blues Thu, 14 Jul 2016 15:24:00 +0000 BB King: The King Of The Blues BB King left behind the racism of rural Mississippi to become the King Of The Blues. Here's his incredible story in his own words… http://assets.teamrock.com/image/6415fe81-dddf-42d7-a254-3b9a21574058 <![CDATA[The 20 Greatest British Blues Albums: 1960 – 1966]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-07-12/the-20-greatest-british-blues-albums-1960-1966 Tue, 12 Jul 2016 17:39:00 +0000 The 20 Greatest British Blues Albums: 1960 – 1966 The 60s started swinging long before the Beatles and the Stones donned their Afghans. Part 1 of our history of British blues starts here with the 20 greatest albums… http://assets.teamrock.com/image/e320b2cb-77ac-4726-accf-6af9be181435 <![CDATA[Muddy Waters Buyer's Guide]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-07-11/muddy-waters-buyer-s-guide Mon, 11 Jul 2016 18:00:00 +0000 Muddy Waters Buyer's Guide The best songs and albums by Muddy Waters, the Godfather of Chicago blues. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/95428f9e-21a0-4d0b-bb31-f6e46dcd0e21 <![CDATA[Royal Southern Brotherhood: two blues dynasties collide.]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-07-11/royal-southern-brotherhood-two-blues-dynasties-collide Mon, 11 Jul 2016 16:19:00 +0000 Royal Southern Brotherhood: two blues dynasties collide. In the summer of 2012, The Blues travelled to New Orleans to meet the Royal Southern Brotherhood… http://assets.teamrock.com/image/a87fbf4d-f556-49ba-90ba-b157f4e180f2 <![CDATA[Buddy Guy: How I Lived The Blues]]> http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-07-08/buddy-guy-how-i-lived-the-blues Fri, 08 Jul 2016 16:58:00 +0000 Buddy Guy: How I Lived The Blues Buddy Guy's 17 albums have made him a blues legend, but he came from humble beginnings in rural Louisiana. Here he looks back on a life making up for lost time. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/33f85034-9daf-4b17-b1f9-0668651bcb5f