Blues Latest Content Latest Blues Content http://teamrock.com/blues Wed, 22 Nov 2017 10:58:08 +0000 <![CDATA[The Answer: Rise (Tap Music)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/the-answer-rise-tap-music Fri, 01 Jul 2016 21:30:00 +0000 The Answer: Rise (Tap Music) A reminder of just what could have been… http://assets.teamrock.com/image/47599f61-257d-46a4-9f16-3ed6faea3823 <![CDATA[Robert Johnson: The Complete Recordings (Soul Jam)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/robert-johnson-the-complete-recordings-soul-jam Fri, 01 Jul 2016 20:30:00 +0000 Robert Johnson: The Complete Recordings (Soul Jam) The same old shit, but it’s still magical. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/c2129e3b-46db-405f-ac9e-072a857d79ea <![CDATA[T-Bone Walker: Great Blues Vocals & Guitar/I Get So Weary + Singing The Blues]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/t-bone-walker-great-blues-vocals-guitar-i-get-so-weary-singing-the-blues Fri, 01 Jul 2016 20:00:00 +0000 Monumental early recordings by the architect of modern blues guitar. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/59c91b2e-d649-4803-a23e-cf0ebd630237 <![CDATA[Various Artists: Blues For Big Walter (EllerSoul )]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/various-artists-blues-for-big-walter-ellersoul Fri, 01 Jul 2016 19:30:00 +0000 Various Artists: Blues For Big Walter (EllerSoul ) Stellar collection of gob iron specialists salute the master. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/f0387b8e-9720-4abb-8c2c-e3a9eab206b9 <![CDATA[Moody Marsden: Real Faith (Talking Elephant)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/moody-marsden-real-faith-talking-elephant Fri, 01 Jul 2016 19:00:00 +0000 Moody Marsden: Real Faith (Talking Elephant) There’s not enough venom in this snakebite. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/531c41e3-c173-46bb-845a-07f2ed6a4cdf <![CDATA[Yardbirds: Yardbirds (Repertoire Records)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/yardbirds-yardbirds-repertoire-records Fri, 01 Jul 2016 18:30:00 +0000 Yardbirds: Yardbirds (Repertoire Records) The record that took them from Crawdaddies to brand new heavies. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/1030c2b4-c8f5-400d-84b9-5706754d1b7b <![CDATA[Various Artists: Alligator Records 45th Anniversary Collection (Alligator)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/various-artists-alligator-records-45th-anniversary-collection-alligator Fri, 01 Jul 2016 18:00:00 +0000 Various Artists: Alligator Records 45th Anniversary Collection (Alligator) Compilation celebrating 45 years of the independent Chicago blues label. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/ffa929d6-6826-4956-8253-6e26349f5735 <![CDATA[Johnny Winter With Dr John: Live In Sweden 1987 (MVD Entertainment)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/johnny-winter-with-dr-john-live-in-sweden-1987-mvd-entertainment Fri, 01 Jul 2016 17:30:00 +0000 Johnny Winter With Dr John: Live In Sweden 1987 (MVD Entertainment) Veteran bluesmen on peak form for Euro-TV session’s first release. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/cffa0e88-2826-4957-bbff-9f6597d43acd <![CDATA[Giles Robson: For Those Who Need The Blues (Blue Midnight)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/giles-robson-for-those-who-need-the-blues-blue-midnight Fri, 01 Jul 2016 17:00:00 +0000 Giles Robson: For Those Who Need The Blues (Blue Midnight) The Dirty Aces harp player’s got a winner up his sleeve. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/8a79b299-d23d-47cf-86b7-6ff5b5d5687b <![CDATA[White Miles: The Duel (Long Branch Records)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/white-miles-the-duel-long-branch-records Fri, 01 Jul 2016 16:30:00 +0000 White Miles: The Duel (Long Branch Records) Filthy-minded Austrians bring the noise. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/62d05986-6e25-4231-a987-d0fbf76f3cb5 <![CDATA[Eric Bibb & North Country Far with Danny Thompson: The Happiest Man In The World]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/eric-bibb-north-country-far-with-danny-thompson-the-happiest-man-in-the-world Fri, 01 Jul 2016 16:00:00 +0000 Easygoing bluesman joins Finnish/English musicians. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/6bcf84f1-19fc-4143-a6db-e069cf12f312 <![CDATA[Neal Black & Larry Garner: Guilty Saints (Dixiefrog)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/neal-black-larry-garner-guilty-saints-dixiefrog Fri, 01 Jul 2016 15:30:00 +0000 Another Euro-American collaboration for Louisiana veteran Larry Garner. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/fcd1736b-abf8-41c4-989c-27fb8b15ceed <![CDATA[Peter Wolf: A Cure For Loneliness (Concord Records)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/peter-wolf-a-cure-for-loneliness-concord-records Fri, 01 Jul 2016 15:00:00 +0000 Peter Wolf: A Cure For Loneliness (Concord Records) Former J Geils Band frontman returns with soulful solo effort. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/b4d1feea-a98c-48e7-89bf-8b31cf27534e <![CDATA[Jimmy ‘Duck’ Holmes: It Is What It Is (Blue Front Records)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/jimmy-duck-holmes-it-is-what-it-is-blue-front-records Fri, 01 Jul 2016 14:30:00 +0000 Jimmy ‘Duck’ Holmes: It Is What It Is (Blue Front Records) Blues as gloriously undiluted as moonshine whiskey. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/846d2f73-082b-47ac-8696-b2c022e360f9 <![CDATA[Matty T Wall: Blue Skies (Only Blues Music)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/matty-t-wall-blue-skies-only-blues-music Fri, 01 Jul 2016 14:00:00 +0000 Matty T Wall: Blue Skies (Only Blues Music) Australia-bred newcomer’s debut showcases signature style. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/175ef491-9d3a-48bf-b6ff-2081aecaf833 <![CDATA[Allen Toussaint: American Tunes (Nonesuch Records)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/allen-toussaint-american-tunes-nonesuch-records Fri, 01 Jul 2016 13:30:00 +0000 Allen Toussaint: American Tunes (Nonesuch Records) Late legend’s jazzy farewell showcases chops and groove. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/a7fc1bb1-5648-4123-8633-52ea405df7c8 <![CDATA[Walter Trout: Alive In Amsterdam (Provogue/Mascot)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/walter-trout-alive-in-amsterdam-provogue-mascot Fri, 01 Jul 2016 13:00:00 +0000 Walter Trout: Alive In Amsterdam (Provogue/Mascot) The road warrior reborn in Amsterdam. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/995a47da-f22c-4788-bb32-b556211c0eb9 <![CDATA[Sulfur City: Talking Loud (Alive Naturalsound)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/sulfur-city-talking-loud-alive-naturalsound Fri, 01 Jul 2016 12:30:00 +0000 Sulfur City: Talking Loud (Alive Naturalsound) Canadian roots-rockers broaden the scope of the blues. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/7a8f1bfd-5a51-4b92-89aa-bb9d1ac9be69 <![CDATA[Malaya Blue: Heartsick (MBM)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/malaya-blue-heartsick-mbm Fri, 01 Jul 2016 12:00:00 +0000 Malaya Blue: Heartsick (MBM) Big-voiced British blues rock singer takes charge. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/583c3485-ce13-4086-9e7f-ded148121a33 <![CDATA[Seratones: Get Gone (Fat Possum)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/seratones-get-gone-fat-possum Fri, 01 Jul 2016 11:30:00 +0000 Seratones: Get Gone (Fat Possum) Indie-infused garage rock and blues with a psychedelic glint. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/0f66cb11-8c9b-45d1-8c58-9845f25fadaf <![CDATA[The Excellos: Rise Up (Stag-O-Lee)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/the-excellos-rise-up-stag-o-lee Fri, 01 Jul 2016 10:30:00 +0000 The Excellos: Rise Up (Stag-O-Lee) London outfit scratch that seven-year itch. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/a7f8c2e5-9fb0-4911-a323-db639b8a11c7 <![CDATA[Andre Williams: I Wanna Go Back To Detroit City (Bloodshot Records)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/andre-williams-i-wanna-go-back-to-detroit-city-bloodshot-records Fri, 01 Jul 2016 09:30:00 +0000 Andre Williams: I Wanna Go Back To Detroit City (Bloodshot Records) The Motor City is smoulderin’… http://assets.teamrock.com/image/4be92031-e477-4baf-bd0d-489b6f2eb16b <![CDATA[Cale Tyson: Careless Soul (Clubhouse Records)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/cale-tyson-careless-soul-clubhouse-records Fri, 01 Jul 2016 08:30:00 +0000 Cale Tyson: Careless Soul (Clubhouse Records) Young Texan sings the honky-tonk blues. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/8ae5a396-9c70-4e7a-b95f-ff8a32975275 <![CDATA[Bad Company: Live 1977 & 1979 (Rhino)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/bad-company-live-1977-1979-rhino Fri, 01 Jul 2016 07:30:00 +0000 Blues rock bravado from the supergroup’s golden period. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/3bd2278f-6be6-47bb-aa03-34697de6f006 <![CDATA[The Record Company: Give It Back To You (Concord Records)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/the-record-company-give-it-back-to-you-concord-records Fri, 01 Jul 2016 06:30:00 +0000 The Record Company: Give It Back To You (Concord Records) A new trio vying for Blackberry Smoke’s throne. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/f3707468-d30b-4631-ab02-80dd7609a178 <![CDATA[Martha High: Singing For The Good Times (Blind Faith Records)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/martha-high-singing-for-the-good-times-blind-faith-records Fri, 01 Jul 2016 05:30:00 +0000 Martha High: Singing For The Good Times (Blind Faith Records) Former James Brown backing vocalist grabs the spotlight. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/f9b92aa1-dbef-4310-b10c-d31161920e43 <![CDATA[The Paul Nelson Band: Badass Generation (Friday Music/Sony Music Group)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/the-paul-nelson-band-badass-generation-friday-music-sony-music-group Fri, 01 Jul 2016 04:30:00 +0000 The Paul Nelson Band: Badass Generation (Friday Music/Sony Music Group) Grammy-winning Johnny Winter producer picks up the baton. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/127af8be-ba4e-4c97-94ab-95bf8c6b7793 <![CDATA[Eli ‘Paperboy’ Reed: My Way Home (Yep Roc)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/eli-paperboy-reed-my-way-home-yep-roc Fri, 01 Jul 2016 02:30:00 +0000 Eli ‘Paperboy’ Reed: My Way Home (Yep Roc) He’ll never get caught. He’s on a mission from God. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/384eaa14-f807-44c0-ad78-e90c06925d4e <![CDATA[Santana: Santana IV (Santana IV Records)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-07-01/santana-santana-iv-santana-iv-records Fri, 01 Jul 2016 00:30:00 +0000 Santana: Santana IV (Santana IV Records) The album they might have made in ’72 – if they hadn’t broken up in ’71. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/a2a3a2e0-f346-49bb-b487-6cc3d3a44476 <![CDATA[DVD Review: Albert Collins & The Icebreakers Live At Rockpalast, Dortmund 1980]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-06-30/dvd-review-albert-collins-the-icebreakers-live-at-rockpalast-dortmund-1980 Thu, 30 Jun 2016 21:30:00 +0000 The Iceman turns in a lukewarm performance. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/1e93ef16-9bb2-4d80-b07c-9caf99589dd5 <![CDATA[Book Review: Hawaiian Guitar]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-06-30/book-review-hawaiian-guitar Thu, 30 Jun 2016 17:30:00 +0000 Book Review: Hawaiian Guitar John W Troutman – Kika Kila: How The Hawaiian Steel Guitar Changed The Sound Of Modern Music (University of North Carolina Press) http://assets.teamrock.com/image/d3453fd2-6259-4b99-a262-4cb373060726 <![CDATA[DVD Review: Robert Mugge: Rhythm ’N’ Bayous – A Road Map To Louisiana Music]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-06-30/dvd-review-robert-mugge-rhythm-n-bayous-a-road-map-to-louisiana-music Thu, 30 Jun 2016 16:00:00 +0000 DVD Review: Robert Mugge: Rhythm ’N’ Bayous – A Road Map To Louisiana Music A stunning, performance-filled ethnomusicological trip. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/ed62a4a2-81f6-4d59-bdd0-b2d48ea08302 <![CDATA[Book Review: Jimi Hendrix]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-06-30/book-review-jimi-hendrix Thu, 30 Jun 2016 15:30:00 +0000 Book Review: Jimi Hendrix http://assets.teamrock.com/image/b8305915-2411-4fb7-9659-39b1dd23b943 <![CDATA[Book Review - Wilko Johnson: Don’t You Leave Me Here - My Life (Little Brown)]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-06-30/book-review-wilko-johnson-don-t-you-leave-me-here-my-life-little-brown Thu, 30 Jun 2016 13:30:00 +0000 Book Review - Wilko Johnson: Don’t You Leave Me Here - My Life (Little Brown) Insightful, emotional autobiography exploring a complex character. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/8576cc48-7fae-4aaf-aa2a-e4eace50e06e <![CDATA[Robin McKelle: The Looking Glass]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-05-09/robin-mckelle-the-looking-glass Mon, 09 May 2016 10:00:00 +0000 Robin McKelle: The Looking Glass New York vocal stylist/songwriter plants her flag. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/6ceee57e-2784-4ed2-9fdd-151d11b9c66b <![CDATA[Rival Sons: Hollow Bones]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-05-09/rival-sons-hollow-bones-1 Mon, 09 May 2016 10:00:00 +0000 Rival Sons: Hollow Bones Rock-solid fifth for the Californian blues-rockers. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/083707a4-dce0-4130-b88b-2b8c81adcc82 <![CDATA[The Castillians: You & Me]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-05-09/the-castillians-you-me Mon, 09 May 2016 10:00:00 +0000 Insolent, fuzzed-out garage blues for people who like headbanging. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/8d1dc157-0100-4748-867f-8c047649d082 <![CDATA[Jimmy Rogers: Chicago Bound]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-05-09/jimmy-rogers-chicago-bound Mon, 09 May 2016 10:00:00 +0000 Jimmy Rogers: Chicago Bound The complete 50s singles of an architect of Chicago blues. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/c57e5f71-b02c-4414-8cdb-2587ec1ace02 <![CDATA[Various Artists: New Breed Workin’ - Blues With A Rhythm]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-05-09/various-artists-new-breed-workin-blues-with-a-rhythm Mon, 09 May 2016 10:00:00 +0000 Various Artists: New Breed Workin’ - Blues With A Rhythm Time to roll back the carpet for some serious dancing. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/a8e119f4-da87-42db-82e3-cb7ae56c3c41 <![CDATA[All Them Witches: Dying Surfer Meets His Maker]]> http://teamrock.com/review/2016-05-09/all-them-witches-dying-surfer-meets-his-maker-1 Mon, 09 May 2016 10:00:00 +0000 All Them Witches: Dying Surfer Meets His Maker Psych-blues rockers whisk you away to a dreamlike state. http://assets.teamrock.com/image/b5424a99-beda-4326-b601-1f77baac3d6b