Skip to main content

Exclusive: Wings long-lost Venus & Mars Advert

1975 TV spot restored to full glory as album is reissued

Paul McCartney has given Classic Rock an exclusive preview of a long-lost TV advertisement. The spot was originally used in 1975 to promote the album Venus & Mars, which is being released on November 3 alongside the band's At The Speed Of Sound.

The video was directed by Karl Reisz, who also directed the classic movies Saturday Night and Sunday Morning, Isadora, and The French Lieutenant's Woman.  

Both albums will be available in a variety of formats: a two disc edition made up of the original remastered album and a second CD of bonus audio, a three disc, deluxe set featuring a hardback book and a DVD featuring filmed material from around the time of release. There will also be vinyl and digital editons. The remastering was carried out by the same engineers who worked on the recent Beatles reissues.

Track Listings:

Venus & Mars

 CD 1 – Remastered Album

  1. Venus and Mars
  2. Rock Show
  3. Love In Song
  4. You Gave Me The Answer
  5. Magneto and Titanium Man
  6. Letting Go
  7. Venus and Mars – Reprise
  8. Spirits Of Ancient Egypt
  9. Medicine Jar
  10. Call Me Back Again
  11. Listen To What The Man Said
  12. Treat Her Gently – Lonely Old People
  13. Crossroads  

CD 2 – Bonus Audio 

  1. Junior’s Farm
  2. Sally
  3. Walking In The Park With Eloise
  4. Bridge On The River Suite
  5. My Carnival
  6. Going To New Orleans (My Carnival)
  7. Hey Diddle [Ernie Winfrey Mix]
  8. Let’s Love
  9. Soily [from One Hand Clapping]              
  10. Baby Face [from One Hand Clapping]              
  11. Lunch Box/Odd Sox    
  12. 4th Of July              
  13. Rock Show [Old Version]
  14. Letting Go [Single Edit]

DVD – Bonus Film

  1.  Recording My Carnival
  2.  Bon Voyageur
  3.  Wings At Elstree
  4.  Venus and Mars TV Ad

At the Speed of Sound

CD 1 – Remastered Album

  1. Let 'Em In
  2. The Note You Never Wrote
  3. She’s My Baby
  4. Beware My Love
  5. Wino Junko
  6. Silly Love Songs
  7. Cook Of The House
  8. Time To Hide
  9. Must Do Something About It
  10. San Ferry Anne
  11. Warm And Beautiful

CD 2 – Bonus Audio 

  1. Silly Love Songs [Demo]
  2. She’s My Baby [Demo]
  3. Message To Joe
  4. Beware My Love [John Bonham Version]
  5. Must Do Something About It [Paul’s Version]
  6. Let ‘Em In [Demo]
  7. Warm And Beautiful [Instrumental Demo]

DVD – Bonus Film

  1. Silly Love Songs Music Video
  2. Wings Over Wembley
  3. Wings In Venice

Get Involved

Trending News