Skip to main content

The Church detail Further/Deeper

21st album gets UK release following London and Brighton shows

Australian neo-psychedelic veterans The Church have confirmed their 21st album, Further/Deeper, will be released on June 8 in the UK.

The launch comes after a European tour including two British dates – at London’s Islington Academy on June 4 and Brighton’s Haunt on June 5.

The 12-track title was boiled down from an eight-day writing session that resulted in a crop of 26 songs.

Vocalist-bassist Steve Kilbey says: “The magic started on day one. Someone strummed a chord and we were off. We wrote and recorded like demons – it was inspiring to feel every member using all his resources in the service of this record."

It’s The Church’s first album with former Powderfinger guitarist Ian Haug, who says: “It was a trip, and an incredible honour to be accepted so readily into a songwriting as well as guitar-playing role.

“The first song we wrote was Miami, and from there we splintered off into several styles of surreal to intense psychedelia — and songs to make you drive fast.”


  1. Vanishing Man

  2. Delirious

  3. Pride Before a Fall

  4. Toy Head

  5. Laurel Canyon

  6. Love Philtre

  7. Globe Spinning

  8. Old Coast Road

  9. Lightning White

  10. Let Us Go

  11. Volkano

  12. Miami

Get Involved

Trending News