Skip to main content

Mike Oldfield to launch rarities

31-track double album featuring disc of rarities, remixes and b-sides to launch this month

A Mike Oldfield compilation featuring 31 tracks including a disc of rarities and remixes will be launched on April 27, it’s been confirmed.

The Best Of: 1992-2003 will be released by Rhino Records and focuses on his time with Warner Bros, drawing on his eight studio releases from the period between 1992’s Tubular Bells II and Tubular Bells 2003.

It’s described as “a fascinating snapshot of an exciting period in Oldfield’s illustrious career. His tenure at Warner Bros is a constantly surprising, ever-evolving body of work. It’s a quiet gift that goes on giving.”

A second disc contains rarities, remixes and b-sides and includes electronic outfit the Orb’s mix of Oldfield track Sentinel which was released as a single in 1992.

The album is currently available to pre-order.

His last album was 2014’s Man On The Rocks, his first studio recording since 2008’s Music Of The Spheres.


Disc 1: Singles

  1. Sentinel – Single Restructure
  2. Tattoo – Single Edit
  3. The Bell – Remix (MC Viv Stanshall)
  4. Hibernaculum
  5. Let There Be Light
  6. The Voyager
  7. Women Of Ireland – Lurker Edit
  8. Man In The Rain
  9. Far Above The Clouds – Timewriter’s Radio Mix
  10. Cochise
  11. Out Of Mind
  12. Pacha Mama
  13. Sunlight Shining Through Cloud
  14. Amber Light
  15. To Be Free – Single Remix
  16. Thou Art in Heaven – Radio Edit
  17. Introduction 2003 – Single Remix
  18. The Sailor’s Hornpipe 2003

Disc 2: Rarities & Remixes

  1. Early Stages
  2. Silent Night
  3. The Bell – Remix (MC Billy Connolly)
  4. The Spectral Army
  5. The Song Of The Boatmen
  6. Indian Lake
  7. Mike’s Reel
  8. Sentinel – Orbular Bells Mix
  9. Let There Be Light – BT’s Pure Luminescence Remix
  10. Women Of Ireland – System 7 12” Mix
  11. Far Above The clouds – Jam & Spoon Mix
  12. To Be Free – Soultronik Mix-tical Mix
  13. Thou Art In Heaven – Pumpin’ Dolls v Mighty Mike Club Mix (Radio Edit)

Get Involved

Trending News