Skip to main content

Martin Barre details 6th solo title

Back To Steel marks Jethro Tull guitarist’s 5-decade career with return to roots

Jethro Tull guitarist Martin Barre has named his sixth solo album Back To Steel – and he’s designed it as a celebration of his five-decade career.

The follow-up to last year’s Order Of Play is released on September 18, and includes his take on Tull tracks Skating Away and Slow Marching Band, plus a cover of the Beatles’ Eleanor Rigby.

Barre says: “This CD is my most important work in my career as a musician. I feel my songwriting has matured to a point that makes it totally accessible to all audiences.”

He adds: “I want this music to be the basis of everything I do from now on – my criteria were that It would work live in a powerful way and keep our identity as a blues-rock band.  

“As always, I’ve put in small quotes of music that give light and shade to the album.”

Tull mainman Ian Anderson has said it’s unlikely the band will work together again, and he’s concentrating on a solo band show based on the band’s catalogue. Barre is planning a large-scale tour for 2016 and plays the following dates this year:

Jul 31: Sussex Trading Boundaries
Aug 08: Somerset Square & Compass
Sep 06: Derby Off The Tracks Festival
Sep 19: Exeter Phoenix
Sep 20: Frome Cheese & Grain
Sep 21: St Ives Guildhall
Oct 02: Southport Atkinson
Oct 03: Kinross Green Hotel
Sat 10: Surrey Haslemere Hall


01. Back To Steel
02. It's Getting Better
03. Bad Man
04. Skating Away
05. Chasing Shadows
06. Hammer
07. You And I
08. A Moment Of Madness
09. Calafel
10. Eleanor Rigby
11. Peace And Quiet
12. Sea Of Vanity
13. Smokestack
14. Without Me
15. Slow Marching Band

Get Involved

Trending News