Skip to main content

The Body: No One Deserves Happiness

Album Review

Portland’s soul-polluters take a pop at pop

The Body keep fucking with us.

If Chip King (guitar/vocals) and Lee Buford (drums) aren’t collaborating with sludge/doom mavens Thou, electronic producer The Haxan Cloak or the Assembly Of Light Women’s Choir, they’re touring with Neurosis but still acting like the most miserable people on Earth. No One Deserves __ Happiness sees them creating “the grossest pop album of all time” and might be their boldest statement yet. After dusting off an 808 drum machine, reminiscing over the iconic rhythms of Always Something There To Remind Me, Tainted Love and Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This) and employing AOLWC members to belt out decent approximations of Debbie Harry and Diana Ross, the noise gets piled on.


More from this edition

Get Involved

Trending Reviews