Skip to main content

Camberwell Now - Ghost Trade/The EP Collection album review

Album Review

This Heat’s melodic avant-prog lovechild Camberwell Now in fine, acerbic fettle.

Formed in the early 80s after This Heat’s dissolution, Charles Hayward (drums, keys, voice), Trefor Goronwy (bass, keys, voice) and Stephen Rickard (tape effects) recorded just one album and two EPs. After being holed up for a couple of years in the famous Cold Storage studio the emergence of their debut EP Meridian (1983) indicated the trio would be continuing down the furrow of darkly oblique songs and soundscapes that This Heat had previously ploughed. A fevered, obsessional affair, they wrangle an acerbic electro-acoustic musical Esperanto whose syntax is as startlingly as it is provocative.


More from this edition

Get Involved

Trending Reviews